What is Dementia Friends?
Dementia Friends
A Global Movement to change people’s perceptions of dementia and to tackle stigma to people living with dementia
2-2-map-en

Dementia Friends is an initiative of Alzheimer's Society in United Kingdom in 2013, which aims to increase people’s understanding of dementia and help create communities in which people affected by dementia can feel more understood and socially included.  Individuals and corporations/groups are invited to register as Dementia Friends/supporting group to Dementia Friends, learn more about dementia through learning video in our Dementia Friends website.  With the massive influence among individuals and support driven by corporations/groups, a dementia-friendly community can be cultivated by spreading the correct understanding and encouraging actions to care and support those people living with dementia.  There are currently over 1.7 million Dementia Friends registered in UK, countries/cities around the world have already joined this global movement including Hong Kong.

 

The logo of Dementia Friends, a flower of Forget-me-not with 5 pieces of blue petal and yellow stamen, is originated from the logo of Dementia Friends UK.  As memory loss is one of the most common signs of dementia, the forget-me-not flower reminds the public not to forget people living with dementia, bringing hope and positive influences to them.

Race Against the Clock of Dementia

The clock of dementia ticks faster, from 1 new case in every 4 seconds in 2010 increased to 3 seconds by now.  There are over 40 million people living with dementia around the world in 2015, and it is projected to reach 130 million in 2050. In Hong Kong, while there is 1 elder with dementia for every 10 local elders aged 70 or above and the percentage increased to about 30% for the age group 85 years and above.  As a result, there is probably one in every single family.  However, the actual number of diagnosed cases is much lower than these as the diagnostic rate in Hong Kong is just about 10%, which means the early symptoms of dementia have usually been neglected.  We believe that the misunderstanding of dementia is the main cause of the delayed diagnosis.  As the dementia journey is an irreversible condition, which usually lasts for about 10 years (certain types of dementia may have fast determination), and the help-seeking decisions are usually made by the families, awareness-raising can enable early detection of dementia, grasp the golden period for treatment, and delay cognitive declines.

2-3-graphic-en
5 keys messages of Dementia Friends
2-5-graphic-en-1
2-5-graphic-en-3
02
2-5-graphic-en-4
05

We cordially invite you to be Dementia Friends, learn more about dementia and turn your understanding into action. All persons of any age, gender and educational background are welcome to join us. Two ways to register: AS AN INDIVIDUAL or AS A GROUP.

Register Now
What Do You Know About Dementia?

Dementia is a collective term for progressive brain syndromes. To know more about dementia, please visit About Dementia.

Join Us
2-1-graphic-en
2-4-graphic-tc
Take Action
Let us work together to develop a dementia-friendly Hong Kong

Most people would like to live in their own communities, so do the people living with dementia  The understanding of dementia will help develop a dementia-friendly community where people living with dementia and their families will feel accepted and supported.  Everyone can play a role and work together to develop a dementia-friendly Hong Kong by learning more about dementia, changing other’s perceptions of dementia, removing its negative labelling and taking actions to care and support the people living with dementia and their families.  Through their influences to people around them, getting more people to join the Dementia Friends Hong Kong movement and helping to create a community in which people living with dementia can live safely, happily and feel more socially included.

 

Every dementia friendly act matters, such as offering help to those who lost their way home, showing concern to family members of people living with dementia, inviting friends to join Dementia Friends Hong Kong, sharing correct knowledge of dementia on the social media platform.  Please also tell us of your dementia friendly acts, so we can post to our website to make greater influences for our community.  Please refer to As An Individual for examples of dementia friendly acts and way of sharing.

 

You can also visit Dementia-Friendly Environment to learn more about the dementia-friendly environment, to help turning our community a better place for the people living with dementia.

甚麼是認知友善好友?
「認知友善好友」全球運動
改變公眾對認知障礙症的錯誤觀念及對患者的負面標籤
2-2-map-tc

為了提高公眾對認知障礙症的認識,以及營造一個關懷及接納認知障礙症患者的環境,英國阿爾茲海默症會於2013年展開一項名為Dementia Friends(港譯:認知友善好友)的全民關注認知障礙症的運動,目前於英國已有超過170萬人登記加入。個人或團體透過簡易方便的網上登記,加入成為認知友善好友或認知友善好友支持團體,獲得更多有關認知障礙症的資訊,繼而以人傳人的方法傳遞知識及行為影響,廣泛地傳播正確和正面的認知障礙症知識,同時鼓勵以行動關心和支持患者與家屬,集結公眾力量,營造認知無障礙社區。現時已有多個國家或城市加入推動行列,香港亦已正式加入這全球行列。

 

認知友善好友運動的標誌源自英國Dementia Friends運動標誌,是一朵勿忘草(通稱:毋忘我 Forget-me-not)。其特徵是五枚藍色花瓣平展,中央有黃色花蕊。由於認知障礙症的其中顯著病徵是記憶衰退,勿忘草寓意此運動能為認知障礙症患者帶來希望及正面的影響,提醒社會勿忘患者。

認知障礙症的時鐘加快了,
必須爭取時間

全球新增的認知障礙症患者由2010年的每四秒一位加速至每三秒一位。2015年,全球患者人數估計超過400萬,預計2050年患者數目將高達1,300萬人;就本港的情況而言,目前每10名70歲以上長者便有一名患者,85歲以上患病比率更高達三分之一,換言之,認知障礙症有可能出現在每一個家庭當中!可是,有報告指出認知障礙症確診人數遠比實際患病人數低,香港只有約10%的確診率,意指患者的症狀可能早已出現,但一直未獲關注,最終令問題演變得明顯嚴重才求助。我們相信這與大眾對此症認識不足、缺乏早期症狀識別能力有關,造成對此症存在不少誤解,通常誤將病徵看成年老退化的現象,因而未有及時求助。由於認知障礙症一旦患上,病情無法逆轉,由早期發展至後期平均大約10年時間,而某些認知障礙症的病情惡化速度可以非常急促,而求診的決定往往是由家庭開始,倘若患者及早獲得評估及診治,把握黃金治療時期,大有機會延緩病情,減慢認知退化速度,對患者的病情進展及長遠照顧計劃有相當重要的影響。

2-3-graphic-tc
認知友善好友運動提倡的五大重要信息
2-5-graphic-tc-1
2-5-graphic-tc-2
2-5-graphic-tc-3
box-4-2
box-5-2

我們誠邀你加入成為認知友善好友,一同認識此病症,以行動關心患者及其家人!任何人士,不限年齡、性別、學歷,均歡迎加入成為認知友善好友!參與方式有兩種:個人參與團體參與

請即登記
認知障礙症 (前稱:老年痴呆症),
你了解多少?

認知障礙症是多種引起大腦功能不正常地衰退以及喪失功能的疾病的統稱,如你想了解更多有關認知障礙症的資訊,請瀏覽有關認知障礙症

登記加入
2-1-graphic-tc
2-4-graphic-tc
關心,是行動的開始,
齊來建設認知無障礙香港

大部份人都希望生活在自己熟悉的地方,認知障礙症患者亦不例外。在認知無障礙社區內,由於人們都了解認知障礙症,看待患者與一般人無異,令生活在這裡的患者及其家人感到被接納及支持。而香港之所以能夠營造成認知無障礙社區,得有賴認知友善好友於了解有關認知障礙症的正確知識後,糾正認知障礙症的錯誤觀念,消除對病症的負面標籤,繼而自發地在社區內以不同的認知友善行為感染其他人。認知友善行為無分大小,即使簡單如協助迷路患者、鼓勵患者家人、介紹親友加入成為認知友善好友、在社交平台分享正確的認知障礙症資訊均可。每個行動對營造認知無障礙香港都有重大意義!此外,我們非常鼓勵並歡迎你將認知友善行為告訴我們,讓我們發布,感染更多人加入!有關認知友善行為例子以及分享方法,請見個人參與

 

此外,你可以於認知無障礙環境了解更多患者所面對的情況,以及改善環境,變得更加「認知無障礙」。